What Pride means to me…….[Pune Pride march 11/9/2014]

‘What does pride mean to you?’. That’s a question I have heard many people ask. I finally have an answer for it; to me Pride means to accept the things I dont need to change and be proud of how far I have come from being ashamed of myself to taking to the streets and shouting at the top of my voice that I am gay and that’s ok. To me Pride means freedom, self respect and hope that no other kid has ever have to feel ashamed of who they are.

I had languished for years in the closet so deep i had managed to fool even myself but 3 years ago i started breaking down the closet door one piece at a time. With each stroke i gained back my self respect and confidence. And today i finally managed to demolish the closet all at one go.

Pune Pride March of 9th November 2014, marks my first participation as an open and out gay person in a public event. And believe me it will not be the last. I will cherish all my memories of the experience; the euphoria, the strength, the power of unity and the burning hope. These feelings are burnt into my heart. And how I wish we could have this events every month. To feel so connected to a crowd of strangers that you feel more close to them than family, i will miss it.

I am glad I came to Pune and luck favored so that I could be a part of it. I regret having missed the first pride march in my home city Guwahati. But I will try my best to be part of all such events that take place in whichever part of the world I am in.

Thank you Sampathik Trust, thank you Pune city and thank you all the wonderful people that came and participated. Thank you all for these wonderful memories and feelings.

1779978_621865147922795_7088659415668834052_n

One thought on “What Pride means to me…….[Pune Pride march 11/9/2014]

Leave a Reply

